Programme of the 39th EWGLAM and 24th SRNWP Meeting


Last update: 12.10.2017


Monday, 2nd October

08:30-09:00 Registration and Poster set-up
09:00-09:10 Opening: Florence Rabier, Director General of ECMWF
09:10-09:15 C-SRNWP Programme Manager: introduction to the meeting's programme,
09:15-09:30 Dick Blaauboer: Developments in EUMETNET: new Projects, preparation of new Programme Phase (2019-2023); EUMETNET Forecasting Programme
 Consortia Presentations (chair: Chiara Marsigli)
09:30-09:45 HIRLAM (Jeanette Onvlee)
09:45-10:00 COSMO (Detlev Majewski)
10:00-10:15 ALADIN (Piet Termonia)
10:15-10:30 LACE (Yong Wang)
10:30-10:45 SEECOP (Goran Pejanovic)
10:45-11:00 Met Office (Mike Bush)
11:00-11:30COFFEE BREAK
11:30-12:00 ECMWF (Andrew Brown)
  Review talks (chair: Detlev Majewski)
12:00-12:30 Data Assimilation (Bruce Ingleby): EUMETNET observation impact studies
12:30-13:00 Predictability and EPS (Sarah-Jane Lock): Representation of model uncertainty in the ECMWF ensembles
13:00-14:00LUNCH BREAK
14:00-14:30 Applications (Milan Dacic): South East European Multi Hazard Early Warning Advisory System (SEE-MHEWS) - Framework Implementation Plan
14:30-15:00 Dynamics (Christian Kuehnlein):Progress with the Finite-Volume Module of the IFS
15:00-15:30 Upper-air physics (Peter Bechtold): Convection parameterization
15:30-15:50 Discussion on the future of the C-SRNWP Project (in the new Programme Phase)
15:50-16:20COFFEE BREAK
  Poster Session (chair: Philippe Steiner)
16:20-17:40 Introduction to posters
Japan Tadashi Fujita
Austria Florian Meier
Belgium Alex Deckmyn
Bulgaria Tsenova Boryana
Croatia Martina Tudor
Alena Trojakova
Denmark Xiaohua Yang
Finland Erik Gregow
France Patricia Pottier
Germany Detlev Majewski
Hungary Mihály Szűcs
Ireland Emily Gleeson
Sander Tijm
Norway Trond Iversen
Bogdan Bochenek
Joanna Linkowska
Portugal Maria Monteiro
Alexandra Craciun
Tudor Balacescu
Russia Gdaly Rivin and Inna Rozinkina
Serbia Goran Pejanovic
Slovakia Maria Derkova
Slovenia Neva Pristov
Spain Javier Calvo
Sweden Ulf Andrae
Switzerland Philippe Steiner
Turkey Alper Güser
Susanna Hagelin
(Hosted by the EUMETNET Secretariat)
18:30-20:00 Side meeting of Expert Team on Predictability (Large Committee Room)

Tuesday, 3rd October
 Thematic sessions of Expert Teams:
 Session on Data Assimilation (chair: Bruce Macpherson)
09:20-09:40 Christoph Schraff: Making KENDA operational
09:40-10:00 Roger Randriamampianina: HIRLAM upper-air data assimilation: status and short-term plan
10:00-10:20 Marco Milan: Met Office hourly 4DVAR
10:20-10:40 Claude Fischer: Progress and plans of DA in Arpege and Arome-France
10:40-11:00 Mate Mile: Recent data assimilation developments in LACE
11:00-11:05 Massimo Bonavita (ECMWF): "Recent and forthcoming changes to the ECMWF DA system (poster)
11:15-11:45COFFEE BREAK
 Session on Upper-air physics (chair: Sander Tijm)
11:45-12:05 Neva Pristov: ALARO Physics Developments
12:05-12:25 Yann Seity: Hail forecasts in AROME-France
12:25-12:45 Matthias Raschendorfer: Current activities in COSMO physics
12:45-12:50 Emily Gleeson: Radiation Experiments and Developments (poster)
13:00-14:00LUNCH BREAK
 Session on Predictability (chair: Alex Deckmyn)
14:00-14:20 Martin Bellus: LAM-EPS activities in RC LACE
14:20-14:40 Inger-Lise Frogner: EPS activities in HIRLAM
14:40-15:00 Chiara Marsigli: Ensemble developments in COSMO
15:00-15:20 José Antonio Garcia-Moya: Status of the SRNWP-EPS II Project
15:20-15:25 Susanna Hagelin: MOGREPS-UK (poster)
15:25-15:30 Andrzej Mazur: Ensemble activities at IMWM-NRI (poster)
15:40-16:00COFFEE BREAK
16:00-18:00 Side meeting of Expert Team on Data Assimilation (Large Committee Room)
16:00-18:00 Side meeting of Expert Team on Surface Aspects (Meeting Room 1)
16:00-18:00 Side meeting of Expert Team on Verification (Mezzanine Room)
16:00-18:00 ALADIN LTM meeting (Lecture Theatre)

Wednesday, 4th October
 Thematic sessions of Expert Teams:
 Session on Surface aspects (chair: Alena Trojakova)
09:30-09:50 Matthias Raschendorfer: Overview of COSMO surface activities
09:50-10:10 Patricia Rosnay: ECMWF snow data assimilation
10:10-10:30 Patrick Samuelsson: Overview of HIRLAM surface activities
10:30-10:50 Piet Termonia: Overview of ALADIN surface activities
10:50-10:55 Goran Pejanovic: RHMSS HYPROM hydrology model: soil process representation (poster)
11:05-11:30COFFEE BREAK
 Session on Link with Applications and System aspects - (chair: Jeanette Onvlee)
11:30-11:50 Pierre Eckert: Thunderstorm checklist: concept and verification
11:50-12:10 Mike Bush: Hazardous Weather Testbed
12:10-12:30 Massimo Milelli: COSMO NWP Test Suite
12:30-12:50 Willem Deconinck: Atlas: a library for numerical weather prediction and climate modelling
13:00-14:00LUNCH BREAK
 Session on Dynamics - (chair: Piet Termonia)
14:00-14:20 Michael Baldauf: Recent numeric developments in the COSMO model
14:20-14:40 Martina Tudor: Forecasting the pressure disturbances that cause meteotsunamis
14:40-15:00 Petra Smolikova: Dynamics in LACE
15:00-15:20 Terry Davies: Dynamical downscaling in LAMs
15:20-15:40 Fabrice Voitus: Recent advances at Météo-France on dynamics for NWP models
15:40-15:45 Sylvie Malardel: Coupling the IFS continuity equation with the physical parametrisations (poster)
16:00-22:00Computer Hall visit and dinner

Thursday, 5th October
  Thematic sessions of Expert Teams: EWGLAM final discussion, SRNWP business
meeting and SRNWP Advisory Committee meeting
 Session on Verification (chair: Clive Wilson)
09:30-09:50 Bent Hansen Sass: Status on Verification and Quality Assurance in HIRLAM-C
09:50-10:10 Marion Mittermaier: Verification of ensembles for hydrological applications
10:10-10:30 Flora Gofa: COSMO verification activities
10:30-10:50 Marion Mittermaier: Long term trends in precipitation forecasts
10:50-10:55 Thomas Haiden and David Richardson: Evaluation of ECMWF forecasts over Europe (poster)
10:55-11:00 Michael Sharpe: Extreme verification...relatively speaking (poster)
11:10-11:40COFFEE BREAK
11:40-12:10 EWGLAM final discussion (chair: Balázs Szintai)
SRNWP business meeting
Balázs Szintai: actual coordination activities within C-SRNWP
13:00-13:30LUNCH BREAK
13:30-15:30SRNWP Advisory Expert Team Meeting (Meeting Room 2)